(^_^)
You are reading...
Food and Noms, Homemade Noms

Easy to Make Healthy Blueberry Lemon Muffin


I love experimenting in the kitchen and researching for quick and easy recipes online. And since I’m always health conscious (does not mean I’m fit! lol), I try to make a healthier version of whatever recipe I have found online.

Healthy Blueberry Lemon Muffin

Healthy Blueberry Lemon Muffin. Taken using my iPhone 5s

There are two things that stuck with me in all my desktop research in the past couple of years: using ground oats to substitute my flour (I always use a blended version of the rolled oats since I always have rolled oats in stock at home) and using Greek Yogurt as a substitute for butter / oil.

I have been trying different variations of this recipe and I think what I am sharing with you here is the best out of all the gazillion recipes I tried.

Anyway, why blueberry? Just because I like blueberry in pastries and baked goods. I’d say no to any other types of berries but not blueberry. And lemon is something that I also always stock up at home so it makes sense to include it in my recipe. Plus, it gives that nice acidity and tartness to the muffin.

Anyway, without further ado, here’s my easy and healthy blueberry lemon muffin recipe.

Yields 12 muffins

Ingredients

1 cup rolled oats, blended until fine

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

Pinch of salt

Lemon zest from 1 whole lemon

1 tbsp coconut oil (or melted butter – coconut oil is much healthier though)

2 egg whites from large eggs, room temperature

2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup Greek Yogurt (you may use non-fat if you can find one)

4 tbsp lemon juice

1 cup blueberry

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees Celcius.
  2. Mix together oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and lemon zest. Set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk coconut oil, egg whites and vanilla until light and fluffy.
  4. Mix in honey, sugar and Greek Yogurt until no lumps are visible.
  5. Stir in lemon juice.
  6. Divide the flour mixture into three parts and milk into two and start adding both into the egg mixture one at a time. Make sure you start with flour, then milk, and so on. Ensure the last batch you’ve added is the flour mixture.
  7. Fold in blueberries.
  8. Scoop in batter into your buttered (or oiled) 12pcs-muffin pan.
  9. Cook for 20 to 25 minutes.
  10. Cool and rack and enjoy.

It’s best to use pastry flour for a lighter and fluffy muffin. I prefer to always use oats or a mix of ground oats and something else.

If you have decided to try my recipe above, please feel free to leave your comments and suggestions to make the result much better.

Cheers!

About IamJoyceee

I am a full time day dreamer and an eternal wonderer. A Bible-believing Christian, who is a big lover of the Big G, my G and my own little pug, Mr. Pies. I am passionate about being a home chef, solving pain points, as well as adopting tech for good. Twitter: @iamjoyceeee | Instagram: @iamjoyceee

Discussion

No comments yet.

Any Thoughts?

I am

... a big time day dreamer
... an eternal wanderer

I am currently…

LEGOLAND... here for the foreseeable future.

Blog Directory for the Philippines

My InstaShots

No Instagram images were found.

My Flickr Photos

Site…

free counters

My Blog Stats

  • 90,221 hits