(^_^)
You are reading...
Wanderings

On Flights: Things I learn as I grow older


IMG_1311

Booking Flights

I am no longer concerned about getting a cheaper price for my flights.

Sure, my first option when heading to a destination around the region is to check budget airlines. I rarely get the main airlines. But when flying to the Philippines, I just want to be doubly sure that I have options to take that’s NOT Cebu Pacific Air. I’ve learned my lesson (what with delayed flights, abrupt change in itinerary, the horror during the holidays!) and I am extra careful now.

I am now after value for your money.

I recently booked a flight for my mum to come over Singapore as she will look after Mr Pies while we are away.

My choices were:

Cebu Pacific 😦

or

Silk Air 🙂

I guess you know which airline I took.

Cebu Pacific

    • Fare price: USD 270 (Php 13,549.51)

To Singapore

    • Total travel duration from Davao to Singapore: ~10 hours DVO-MNL-SG
    • Baggage: No baggage allowance
    • Refreshments: None
    • Delays: Highly likely
    • Seat selection: Not included in the fare price; additional cost

To Davao

  • Total travel duration from Singapore to Davao: 3.5 hours Direct
  • Baggage: 20 kg Baggage allowance
  • Refreshments: None
  • Delays: Unlikely since it’s a direct flight
  • Seat selection: Not included in the fare price; additional cost

SilkAir

    • Fare price: USD 350 (Php 17,575.50)

To Singapore

    • Total travel duration from Davao to Singapore: 3.5 Hours Direct Flight
    • Baggage: 30 kg baggage allowance
    • Refreshments: Free flow (booze as well! not that my mum is taking any)
    • Delays: Highly unlikely
    • Seat selection: Included in the fair price

To Davao

  • Total travel duration from Davao to Singapore: 3.5 Hours Direct Flight
  • Baggage: 30 kg baggage allowance
  • Refreshments: Free flow (booze as well! not that my mum is taking any)
  • Delays: Highly unlikely
  • Seat selection: Included in the fair price

The $80 additional payment makes all the difference in the world.

My takeaway are these:

Book responsibly

I book flights that are within my means. While budget airlines are still my first choice for short distance travels, I like to keep my options open for all types of airlines.

Read reviews of the airlines you are taking

This will prove to be very helpful especially if you are not familiar with that airline. A simple Google Search will provide you with great insight on customer feedbacks.

I came across these on Cebu Pacific:

And these are what I read about SilkAir:

Take this advice with a grain of salt

It really all depends on your personal experience. And whatever rocks your boat.

Do you have any tips to getting an airline upgrade?

Please leave your answer in the form below. 🙂

About IamJoyceee

I am a full time day dreamer and an eternal wonderer. A Bible-believing Christian, who is a big lover of the Big G, my G and my own little pug, Mr. Pies. I am passionate about being a home chef, solving pain points, as well as adopting tech for good. Twitter: @iamjoyceeee | Instagram: @iamjoyceee

Discussion

No comments yet.

Any Thoughts?

I am

... a big time day dreamer
... an eternal wanderer

I am currently…

LEGOLAND... here for the foreseeable future.

Blog Directory for the Philippines

My InstaShots

No Instagram images were found.

My Flickr Photos

Site…

free counters

My Blog Stats

  • 90,221 hits