(^_^)
You are reading...
Food and Noms, Homemade Noms

Quick & Easy Banana Bread


Baking is always a challenge for me. Unlike hot food where you can just adjust everything according to taste as you go along, baking is far from it. It’s concise science.

giphy

But that did not stop me from experimenting in the kitchen. From following hundreds of #Fitness and #healthy Instagram accounts which shares great recipes and ingredients basically for anything that I can think of, I managed to create MY ideal banana bread. Of course, this is after the countless trial and errors baking, several revisions and a couple of versions.

So without further ado, below is IamJoycee’s Quick ‘n Easy Banana Loaf Bread:

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas (close to over-ripe, with brown dots), mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup low-fat milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup greek yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 cups rolled oats, blended fine for that ‘flour’ consistency
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Optional: 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Process

Step 1. Pre-heat oven to 165 degrees C. Based on my readings, it’s best to have the oven pre-heated for at least 20 minutes

Step 2. Mix egg, banana, milk, vanilla, greek yoghurt, lemon juice & brown sugar.

Some observations here: During one of my experiments, I have used a ‘just ripe’ banana with 1.5 cups of brown sugar. This has almost the same sweetness as this current recipe which as an almost over-ripe banana and with only 1/2 cup of brown sugar. 

Step 3. Fold in the oat flour and baking soda into the mix. Do not over mix.

Note: I don’t really understand the reason why over mixing is a no-no. Anyone care to enlighten me?

Step 4. Pour the batter in your mould. For me, I am using these paper moulds, individual sizes.

Step 5. Place in oven and let it cook for 35 – 40 minutes since I am using these small mini cups. If you are using loaf pans, let it cook for 60 – 80 minutes.

Step 6. Take it out of the oven and let cool on rack.

Bon appetit!

 

About IamJoyceee

I am a full time day dreamer and an eternal wonderer. A Bible-believing Christian, who is a big lover of the Big G, my G and my own little pug, Mr. Pies. I am passionate about being a home chef, solving pain points, as well as adopting tech for good. Twitter: @iamjoyceeee | Instagram: @iamjoyceee

Discussion

No comments yet.

Any Thoughts?

I am

... a big time day dreamer
... an eternal wanderer

I am currently…

LEGOLAND... here for the foreseeable future.

Blog Directory for the Philippines

My InstaShots

No Instagram images were found.

My Flickr Photos

Site…

free counters

My Blog Stats

  • 90,221 hits