(^_^)
You are reading...
Food and Noms, Homemade Noms

Easy to Make Mug Cake


I said it yesterday on Instagram and I’m saying it again today here: whoever invented Mug Cakes are pure geniuses!

I think my first try was the most successful one. My version of the Nutella Mug Cake.

I was raking my mind on what nice dessert make because a friend is coming over for a ‘slumber’ party. I already knew what to prepare for dinner (Roast Potatoes, Roasted Coca Cola Spare Ribs, Garden Salad) but what to serve for dessert or something sweet was a bit hard to decide on. You see, I’m really not good at baking which I recently found out, and accepted, when I baked G’s birthday cake, so I was leaning towards a no-bake cake, ref cakes or fruit salad! Anyway, my go-to site has always been Pinterest (well, ever since I became a member) so I searched for ‘desserts’ and found a recipe for Mug Cakes! 🙂

I gave it a little tweak and here’s my version of the Nutella Mug Cake:

Ingredients

4 tbsp self-rising flour

4 tbsp brown sugar (you may use white, of course)

3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s)

1 egg

3 tbsp milk (fresh milk will do)

3 tbsp nutella

3 tbsp butter (you may also use olive oil or vegetable oil)

Dark chocolate droplets, marshmallows for filling

Instructions

Easy. Combine all ingredients in a large mug. What I used was G’s humungous tea mug (which I think serves two!). Make sure the batter is smooth and mixed evenly. Drop the dark chocolate droplets and marshmallows in the middle, make it ‘sink’. Microwave on high for 2 minutes. Now this depends on your microwave. It usually takes between 1.5 – 3minutes so you better check when you’re on the one and a half minute mark. Top with ice cream/whip cream/more marshmallows/more nutella/fresh fruits/etc. Serve and enjoy.

There are some important things to note though which I discovered through trial and error (I made a couple of batches yesterday).

1. It’s best if it’s really in a mug or any ceramic container. You may use a microwaveable ceramic bowl if you want to. I tried mine on a heart-shaped baking container, took me longer to ‘bake’ and it’s not as good.

2. You may change Nutella to peanut butter or any other possible ingredient you may find in your kitchen. I did it with Peanut Butter but Nutella cake was better.

3. Eat it hot/warm! If it cools down, it’s not as good!

4. You may drop salted caramel or fresh fruits or a piece of a chocolate bar in the middle. 🙂 To make it a bit moist. The cake cane get really dry when it cools down so a bit of gooey stuff in the middle makes it better. Might tweak it a bit to make it more moist as is even when it has cooled down.

5. Finally, you may get more mug cake ideas from this site.

I was so amazed at this mug cake recipe that I have convinced myself that I still have hope in the baking arena! 😉 Can you send me a photo of your final product? 🙂

About IamJoyceee

I am a full time day dreamer and an eternal wonderer. A Bible-believing Christian, who is a big lover of the Big G, my G and my own little pug, Mr. Pies. I am passionate about being a home chef, solving pain points, as well as adopting tech for good. Twitter: @iamjoyceeee | Instagram: @iamjoyceee

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Easy to Make Mug Cake

  1. I have to share a homemade recipe with everyone. One night I had asked my wife to make brownies because I had that chocolate crave going on so she got out the box of dark chocolate mix and started making it. When she got done I was presented with a surprise – homemade Reeses brownies that were made with natural peanut butter! Oh my they were so good. Now they were not officially Reeses brownies but I called them that to give you an idea of how they came out. She warmed up about 1/4 cup Jiffy natural peanut butter and simply poured it in the mix. A few tries after the first round she started putting the peanut butter in the middle of the brownie mix. So she would dump 1/2 the brownie mix in the pan, then the peanut butter, and then finally the rest of the brownie mix to make it like a Reeses brownie square. I guess you could use the Reeses brand peanut butter to make them, but I do not know if Reeses has a natural brand out yet. She also used a flax seed substitute for the eggs, which added another healthy dose of omega 3 to the already rich antioxidants from the dark chocolate. But now that I think of it, I have not seen Reeses peanut butter on the store shelves lately. Any good brand of natural peanut butter would beAnyhow I just wanted to share this cool recipe with you because I simply love it.

    Like

    Posted by Healthy Mind | September 5, 2012, 2:15 PM

Any Thoughts?

I am

... a big time day dreamer
... an eternal wanderer

I am currently…

LEGOLAND... here for the foreseeable future.

Blog Directory for the Philippines

My InstaShots

No Instagram images were found.

My Flickr Photos

Site…

free counters

My Blog Stats

  • 90,227 hits